top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephen

Slippery Reds See Off Wet Waratahs

A 'rain bomb' just before kick-off and being down to 13 men for 10 minutes, didn't stop the Queensland Reds retaining the Bob Templeton Cup with a 32-20 win over the NSW Waratahs.

Dane Zander saw Red for a dangerous tackle at the 31st minute mark, and Tate McDermott followed a few minutes later with a Yellow Card for a deliberate knock-down.

The Waratahs were unable to capitalize however, and the Reds held on for the win in slippery conditions at Suncorp Stadium.

Queensland Reds 32 (Tries: McDermott, Tupou, McReight, Campbell; Conversions: O’Connor 2, Henry; Penalties: O’Connor 2) defeated New South Wales Waratahs 20 (Tries: Grant, Horton; Conversions: Harrison, Edmed; Penalties: Harrison, Edmed)



REDS: 15 Jordan Petaia, 14 Jock Campbell, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Josh Flook, 10 James O'Connor, 9 Tate McDermott (co-c), 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Fraser McReight, 6 Seru Uru, 5 Angus Blyth, 4 Ryan Smith, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Josh Nasser, 1 Dane Zander

Replacements: 16 Matt Faessler, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Feao Fotuaika, 19 Connor Vest, 20 Liam Wright (co-c), 21 Kalani Thomas, 22 Lawson Creighton, 23 Isaac Henry

WARATAHS: 15 Will Harrison, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Tane Edmed, 9 Jack Grant, 8 Will Harris, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Charlie Gamble, 5 Geoff Cridge, 4 Hugh Sinclair, 3 Ruan Smith, 2 Dave Porecki, 1 Tetera Faulkner

Reserves: 16 Tom Horton, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Archer Holz, 19 Jed Holloway, 20 Langi Gleeson, 21 Teddy Wilson, 22 Dylan Pietsch, 23 Triston Reilly


bottom of page